Norman Goldstein, President

Norman Goldstein is JCA’s 24th president. He is a retired federal attorney who served in multiple legal positions. He was a Senior Trial Attorney with the Federal Communications Commission where he represented the government in major enforcement actions involving the broadcast media, encompassing a wide range of misconduct including misrepresentation, alien ownership and violations of other statutory provisions of the Communications Act.

Norman also was a legal counsel to a Special Consultant to the President of the United States. In that capacity, he advised on the establishment and development of the National Center for Voluntary Action to promote volunteerism throughout the country. He also was a Peace Corps volunteer lawyer in Micronesia.

Norman has held numerous volunteer positions. He has been president of the Charles E. Smith Jewish Day School, the Jewish Community Relations Council of Greater Washington and Ohr Kodesh Congregation. He also has held numerous vice presidencies, including at the Jewish Federation of Greater Washington, and was vice chair of the American Jewish International Relations Institute.

Norman also has been a committee member of the Jewish Agency for Israel, a trustee of the Jewish Federations of North America and a board member for the Jewish Council for the Aging. He is a founding member of the N Street Village and was chairman of the Consumer Council of the State of Maryland. He also has held and holds numerous leadership positions  both in Jewish and general organizations.

The Goldstein’s have a long history of activism within JCA. Norman’s wife, Joanne, helped found the agency. They were married in Detroit in 1964 and have four children, Alan (Candice), Aileen, Eliot (Rebecca) and Michael (Andrea). The Goldsteins are the proud grandparents of nine children – Micah, Daphne, Koby, Adin, Amitai, Darielle, Adi Liat, Ethan and Charlie.

He received his AB from the University of Chicago and a JD from Northwestern University School of Law and lives in Silver Spring.

Lay Leaders

with terms expiring at the Annual Meeting of 2020

  • President: Norman Goldstein
  • First Vice President: Howard Gleckman
  • Second Vice President: Marion Kristal Goldberg
  • Third Vice President: Herbert Mintz
  • Secretary: Ronna Borenstein-Levy
  • Assistant Secretary: Vivien Hsueh
  • Treasurer: Kenneth Simonson
  • Assistant Treasurer: Scot Farrell
  • Parliamentarian: Nancy Fiedelman
  • Members-at-Large: Marc Berman and Melvin Stern
  • Chief Executive Officer: David Gamse

Except for the Chief Executive Officer, terms of Executive Committee members run from the JCA Annual Meeting of October 15, 2018 until the Annual Meeting in the fall of 2019.

Class of 2020

with terms expiring at the Annual Meeting 2020

  • Barbara Etkind
  • Lynn Friss Feinberg
  • Debra Liverpool
  • Ronald Paul
  • Melvin Stern, Presidential Appointee
  • Howard Wilchins, Presidential Appointee
  • Gregory Wims

Class of 2021

with terms expiring at the Annual Meeting 2021

  • Marc Berman
  • Ronna Borenstein-Levy
  • Phyllis Coburn
  • Richard Galen
  • Jay Goldman
  • Debra Korth

Class of 2022

with terms expiring at the Annual Meeting 2022

  • Irv Bartfield
  • Daniel Hodin
  • Jeffrey Lipson
  • John Shuchart
  • Vickie Witkin
  • Stephen Wolk

Past Presidents

  • George Hurwitz of blessed memory, 1973-1975
  • Julius Sankin of blessed memory, 1975-1978
  • Rosalie B. Gerber of blessed memory, 1978-1980
  • Saul I. Stern of blessed memory, 1980-1982
  • Sidney Z. Mensh of blessed memory, 1982-1984
  • Samuel J. Gorlitz of blessed memory, 1984-1986
  • William H. Goldwater of blessed memory, 1986-1988
  • Irvin A. Lavine of blessed memory, 1988-1990
  • Lawrence L. Levin, 1990
  • Stella M. Bernstein of blessed memory, 1990-1992
  • Sylvia Raphael, 1992-1994
  • Win Greenwald, 1994-1996
  • Sally M. Herman, 1996-1998
  • Judith S. Ball, 1998-2000
  • Michael Goldberg, 2000-2002
  • Elaine Kotell Binder, 2002-2004
  • Richard Dine, 2004-2006
  • Ed Bonder, 2006-2008
  • Linda Kaplan, 2008-2010
  • Barbara S. Mintz, 2010-2012
  • Samuel G. Kaplan, 2012-2014
  • Sheldon Grosberg, of blessed memory, 2014-2016
  • Natalie Cantor, 2016-2018

Senior Staff

  • David Gamse

    Chief Executive Officer

    Email David
  • Micki Gordon

    Assistant CEO / Senior Director, Development

    Email Micki
  • Kevin Feltz

    Senior Director of Finance and Administration

    Email Stephen
  • Kathi Dennis

    Senior Director, Heyman Interages Center

    Email Leah
  • Sara Fought

    Senior Director, Center for Information Services

    Email Harriet

David Gamse, Chief Executive Officer

David Gamse is a gerontologist who has served as the Chief Executive Officer of the Jewish Council for the Aging since 1990. At JCA, he plays a pivotal role in creating and managing innovative and cost-effective programs that help seniors thrive and that build intergenerational connections.  

More than 90 staff and 1,300 volunteers rely on his leadership, and together they serve more than 30,000 older adults and family caregivers each year through transportation services, senior employment programs, intergenerational activities, adult day services, public information programs and more. Concurrently, David serves as CEO of the National Center for Productive Aging™, JCA’s consulting arm.  

Over the years, David has led workshops and symposia on issues of aging and nonprofit management for a wide range of public and private organizations including the American Management Association, the White House Conference on Aging and the U.S. Department of Labor. He has represented U.S. policy on aging at international conferences of the United Nations and Israeli Gerontological Society. He has authored many articles about productive aging and service delivery.  

Prior to joining JCA, David was a senior manager at AARP, a multi-million-member association. Earlier, he was an adjunct faculty member at the University of South Florida’s Aging Studies Program, from which he graduated and later received an Eminent Graduate Award. David is also a recipient of the Florida Board of Regents’ Distinguished Scholarship Award and the Seabury Leadership in Aging Award. He is a member of the Age-Friendly Montgomery leadership group.  

David is a member of the American Society of Association Executives, the Gerontological Society of America, the Executive Directors & Headmasters Council of Jewish Agencies in the metro Washington, D.C. region, and the Age-Friendly Montgomery Leadership Group (formerly the Senior Subcabinet.) He was a founding board member of WorkSource Montgomery.

Given the size of our mission and dreams as well as the depth and diversity of our programs, JCA has a small staff indeed! Yet with more than 90 employees, including on-call and temporary personnel, we are among the largest employers in Montgomery County, Md.